I Almost Do

My name is Ashley and in this article I will be talking about the Taylor’s song “I Almost Do” from her 4th album RED. Each song ‘speaks’ to us all differently. The line that strikes a cord with me can be completely different from what my best buddies connect with. The lyrics of this song truly spoke to me because the music is simply beautiful. Some of my favorite lyrics are in this song. My first reaction on listening to this song was, “Oh My God! This song is so amazing.”

☆ My Thoughts When I Heard It

The first lyric that I really love is where she says “I bet it never ever occurred to you that I can’t say “Hello” to you and risk another Goodbye” This line makes me think of a boy I liked in High School. He knew I liked him and realised he had the power to play with my emotions. By my senior year I was sick of being a fool and ignored his text messages. I just couldn’t take another goodbye.

Another line I like is “I confess Babe, In my dreams you’re touching my face and asking me if I wanna try again with you.” This has happened to me so many times before like I was like maybe this time he’ll change and the same thing would happen over and over again. I just gave up at that point and I am now older (and wiser)

☆ Its Impact On Me

This song reminds of a time in my life when I was really hung up on that boy. He pretended to be my boyfriend but he was messing with my head and feelings. In my senior I was sick of being taken for granted and treated badly. I finally quit talking to him but there was always that urge to call him like the line in the song “It takes everything in me not to call you.” I knew I shouldn’t because I knew i just couldn’t go through that inevitable goodbye.

☆ My Vision Of The Music Video

In my opinion, the video should begin with Taylor sitting on her bed looking like she is deep in thought. Next shot would be of a businessman returning home to his big apartment late at night in New York sitting in his chair by the window looking out at the whole city thinking about Taylor.

Then it would go back to Taylor looking around her room for her phone. She picks it up to call this guy but stops herself. In the next scene this guy texts her “Hey! How are you doing? Want to hang out?” but Taylor just shakes her head and continues to write her song

The guy is eating alone and having flash backs of their good times together. The focus goes back onto Taylor thinking about all the good times. She is about to call this guy but then she thinks of the bad times she went through. So she puts down the phone and goes to bed.

The next visual is Taylor dreams of this man touching her face and asking her if she wants to start again. She thinks of the good times and starts to say yes but then a really bad time comes to mind and she pulls away and screams “NO!”

This wakes her up, she gets a glass of water and sings “I bet this time of night you’re still up. I bet you’re tired from a long hard week. I bet you’re sitting in your chair by the window looking out at the city and I hope sometimes you wonder about me.“

Thank you so much for reading I hope you liked it I’ll be writing something for each song every 2 or 3 weeks see you next time.

Written by Ashley Loos and Edited by Annie Saroj

Leave a Reply

